Splurge or Save: Hot Looks For Cold Weather

Good Morning America

Temperatures have been all over the map this winter - up and down every week, even every day. So your look has to be ready to adapt to cold and warm weather, all while looking hot. 

Dressing in layers means more clothes, but it doesn't mean your budget has to go bust for you to stay warm.

You can pair inexpensive basics with one, big splurge piece, or make a swap for the splurge by choosing budget-friendly trades that are stylish at a fraction of the cost.

Lucky magazine style editor Lori Bergamotto appeared on "Good Morning America" today with three models, each showing a look that paired budget-friendly items with one, big splurge.

Each look also includes a bonus item, a wallet-conscious swap for the splurge item so you'll be able to keep shopping, and keep looking good, all winter long.

Dressy Look

View gallery



Burberry taupe perforated leather gloves, $595. Available at www.us.burberry.com.


Juicy Couture beige faux fur headphone ear muffs, $69.99, www.juicycouture.com.

H and M black satin coat, $29.95, www.hm.com for store locator.

A/X Armani Exchange black chevron dress, $98.00, www.armaniexchange.com.

Hue "Super Opaque" black tights, $13.50, www.hue.com.

L.L. Bean Signature "Stowe" black ankle boot, $189.00, www.llbeansignature.com.


Lands' End Women's Leather Driving Gloves, $14.99, www.landsend.com

Work Look

View gallery



Alice +Olivia brown fur scarf, $396.00, www.aliceandolivia.com.


Michael Kors camel leather glove, $28.97, piperlime.com.

Lush red a-line coat, $79.00, www.lushclothing.com.

Gap khaki slim cropped pants, $49.95, www.gap.com.

Uniqlo pale blue cashmere crewneck sweater, $ 89.00, www.Uniqlo.com.

Chelsea Crew lace up boot, $101.00, www.lulus.com.

Lulus.com "Art In The Park" satchel, $49.00, www.lulus.com.


525 America Faux-Fur Scarf, $60.00, www.lastcall.com

Country Look

View gallery



Allsaints Spitalfields brown fur lined boot, $495.00, www.allsaints.com.


Old Navy tartan duffle coat, $24.97, www.oldnavy.com, or Old Navy retail stores nationwide.

Forever 21 grey turtleneck, $14.90, www.forever21.com.

Club Monaco denim shirt, $129.00, www.clubmonaco.com for store locations.

Mossimo for Target white skinny jeans, $22.99, www.target.com, and most Target stores.

Hat Attack grey knit mitten with microfur, $46.00, www.hatattack.com.

Hat Attack grey knit cap with pom pom, $55.00, www.hatattack.com.


G by Guess Ninaa Boot, $59.99, www.piperlime.com

View Comments (15)